FULL BOARD MINUTES MUNICIPALITIES, COLLEGES, SCHOOLS INSURANCE GROUP November 15, 2022

1. CALL TO ORDER

The President called the regular meeting of the Full Board to order at 3:50 p.m.

*Special Note: This meeting was a Zoom (virtual) meeting due to a Worldwide Pandemic. Attendees attended virtually by phone or computer.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Dan Picardi, Glen Hanneman, Steve McDougall, Yvonne Perez,

Manuel Nunez, David Techaira, Kati Bassler, Sherrie Castellanos, Ana Aguillon, Patricia Garfoot, Ryan Altemeyer, Dawn Tovey, Roberta Greathouse, Kenneth Lawrence-Emanuel, Yolanda Salazar

MEMBERS ABSENT: Aimee Alling, Lisa Gering, Lindsay Lopez, Amy Andersen, Lori

Contreras, Lisa Wichael-Loomis, Vera Gruber, Sandra Shreve, Jessica

Guzzi, Josh Jorn, Gio Padilla, Hector Garcia, Melissa Richerson,

Becky Moore, Griselda Ortiz, Garry Bousum

STAFF PRESENT: Neddie Sarmiento, Executive Director

Kerri Greene, Executive Assistant

Julia Hernandez, Accounting Technician

OTHERS PRESENT: Bordan Darm, Keenan & Associates

Tom Edwards, Keenan & Associates Mignon Strong, Blue Shield of California Brandie Barrows, Taylor English Duma LLP

2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA – November 15, 2022

Motion to adopt the agenda.

MOTION: Ana Aguillon SECONDED: Yolanda Salazar MOTION CARRIED

YEA: Dan Picardi, Glen Hanneman, Steve McDougall, Yvonne Perez, Manuel Nunez, David Techaira, Kati Bassler, Sherrie Castellanos, Ana Aguillon, Patricia Garfoot, Ryan Altemeyer, Dawn Tovey, Roberta Greathouse, Ken Lawrence-Emanuel, Yolanda Salazar

NAY: None ABSTAIN: None

ABSENT: Aimee Alling, Lisa Gering, Lindsay Lopez, Amy Andersen, Lori Contreras, Lisa Wichael-Loomis, Vera Gruber, Sandra Shreve, Jessica Guzzi, Josh Jorn, Gio Padilla, Hector Garcia, Melissa Richerson, Becky Moore, Griselda Ortiz, Garry Bousum

Full Board Minutes November 15, 2022 Page 2 of 4

3. COMMENTS FROM AUDIENCE

None given.

CONSENT AGENDA: Notice to the Public: The consent agenda is a component of the meeting agenda that enables the Committee to dispatch routine, standard, non-controversial, self-explanatory, implementing (follow-up) items or items not requiring any discussion with one vote. Separate items on the consent agenda are not discussed before the vote and the entire consent agenda is voted on at once without any explanations or comments. If a board member or member of the public feels that an item on the consent agenda should be discussed, he/she may request the removal of that item from the consent agenda at the time the consent agenda is announced. Removed consent agenda items are considered separately, in their turn, after the consent agenda vote.

4. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>

Regular Full Board Meeting – September 27, 2022

MOTION: Yvonne Perez SECONDED: Patricia Garfoot MOTION CARRIED

YEA: Dan Picardi, Glen Hanneman, Steve McDougall, Yvonne Perez, Manuel Nunez, David Techaira, Kati Bassler, Sherrie Castellanos, Ana Aguillon, Patricia Garfoot, Ryan Altemeyer, Dawn Tovey, Roberta Greathouse, Ken Lawrence-Emanuel, Yolanda Salazar

NAY: None ABSTAIN: None

ABSENT: Aimee Alling, Lisa Gering, Lindsay Lopez, Amy Andersen, Lori Contreras, Lisa Wichael-Loomis, Vera Gruber, Sandra Shreve, Jessica Guzzi, Josh Jorn, Gio Padilla, Hector Garcia, Melissa Richerson, Becky Moore, Griselda Ortiz, Garry Bousum

ACTION ITEMS:

5. CONSIDER ELECTION TO OPT OUT OF HIPAA

The President stated the Executive Committee had motioned this item for approval at their meeting prior to the Full Board meeting. He then turned the time over to MCSIG's legal counsel, Brandie Barrows, to give further explanation on the item. The President then called for a second to be made on the Executive Committee's previous motion to accept the Opt Out.

Second to accept the Executive Committee's motion to Opt Out of HIPAA for the 2023 Plan Year.

MOTION: Ana Aguillon SECONDED: Kati Bassler MOTION CARRIED

YEA: Dan Picardi, Glen Hanneman, Steve McDougall, Yvonne Perez, Manuel Nunez, David Techaira, Kati Bassler, Sherrie Castellanos, Ana Aguillon, Patricia Garfoot, Ryan Altemeyer, Dawn Tovey, Roberta Greathouse, Ken Lawrence-Emanuel, Yolanda Salazar

Full Board Minutes November 15, 2022 Page 3 of 4

NAY: None ABSTAIN: None

ABSENT: Aimee Alling, Lisa Gering, Lindsay Lopez, Amy Andersen, Lori Contreras, Lisa Wichael-Loomis, Vera Gruber, Sandra Shreve, Jessica Guzzi, Josh Jorn, Gio Padilla, Hector Garcia, Melissa Richerson, Becky Moore, Griselda Ortiz, Garry Bousum

6. EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ELECTION

The President reported there are two labor and two management representative positions on the Executive Committee currently being served by Ana Aguillon, Yvonne Perez, Steve McDougall, and Glen Hanneman, whose terms are up at the end of November. Each of these committee members are willing to continue serving if re-elected.

Steve McDougall nominated Ana Aguillon Patricia Garfoot seconded.

Ryan Altemeyer nominated Yvonne Perez Patricia Garfoot seconded

Glen Hanneman nominated Steve McDougall Kati Bassler seconded

Yvonne Perez nominated Glen Hanneman Patricia Garfoot seconded

The Executive Director then opened the floor for any other nominations.

There being no other nominations a motion was made to close nominations and appoint said nominees.

MOTION: Kati Bassler SECONDED: Patricia Garfoot MOTION CARRIED

YEA: Dan Picardi, Glen Hanneman, Yvonne Perez, Manuel Nunez, David Techaira, Kati Bassler, Sherrie Castellanos, Ana Aguillon, Patricia Garfoot, Ryan Altemeyer, Dawn Tovey, Roberta Greathouse, Ken Lawrence-Emanuel, Yolanda Salazar

NAY: None ABSTAIN: Steve McDougall

ABSENT: Aimee Alling, Lisa Gering, Lindsay Lopez, Amy Andersen, Lori Contreras, Lisa Wichael-Loomis, Vera Gruber, Sandra Shreve, Jessica Guzzi, Josh Jorn, Gio Padilla, Hector Garcia, Melissa Richerson, Becky Moore, Griselda Ortiz, Garry Bousum

Full Board Minutes November 15, 2022 Page 4 of 4

7. APPROVE 2023 CALENDAR

While the Board members appreciated the later start time for the Board meetings there was some discussion in changing the day of the meetings to avoid other conflicts.

Motion to move the Executive Committee and Full Board meetings to the fourth (4th) Thursday of the month with a start time of 11:30 a.m. and 3:45 p.m., respectively. November will be the exception with the meetings being held on the fifth (5th) Thursday and no meetings to be held in July or December.

MOTION: Ana Aguillon SECONDED: Yvonne Perez MOTION CARRIED

YEA: Dan Picardi, Glen Hanneman, Steve McDougall, Yvonne Perez, Manuel Nunez, David Techaira, Kati Bassler, Sherrie Castellanos, Ana Aguillon, Patricia Garfoot, Ryan Altemeyer, Dawn Tovey, Roberta Greathouse, Ken Lawrence-Emanuel, Yolanda Salazar

NAY: None ABSTAIN: None

ABSENT: Aimee Alling, Lisa Gering, Lindsay Lopez, Amy Andersen, Lori Contreras, Lisa Wichael-Loomis, Vera Gruber, Sandra Shreve, Jessica Guzzi, Josh Jorn, Gio Padilla, Hector Garcia, Melissa Richerson, Becky Moore, Griselda Ortiz, Garry Bousum

CLOSING COMMENTS:

8. COMMENTS FROM FB MEMBERS:

No comments given.

9. AGENDA ITEMS FOR THE NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED MEETING

No items given.

15. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.